Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon



Minor League Baseball consists of 120 full-season affiliated teams across the U.S. and Canada and serves as a developmental system for Major League Baseball. MiLB, founded in 1901, is headquartered in New York and operates additional rookie leagues in Arizona, Florida and the Dominican Republic each summer.

Full-season MiLB teams are spread out across four levels: Triple-A, Double-A, High-A and Single-A. Players in the Minors are typically scouted by Major League organizations during their high school and college careers before being selected in the MLB Draft or signing as undrafted free agents and international free agents. Players are assigned by MLB teams to Minor League affiliates -- there are no open tryouts for Minor League Baseball or its teams. Games are available to watch on MiLB.TV.

About Minor League Baseball